Web Analytics
Fri. Apr 16th, 2021

Implementation of expanded travel restrictions underway

Foreigners from six more countries with the Covid-19 variant are now banned from entering the Philippines. On January 8, 2021, Bureau of Immigration (BI) Commissioner Jaime Morente added six more countries to their list of countries that are subject to travel restrictions. That’s according to a Press Release from Immigration’s Facebook page.


The new restrictions apply for travelers who will arrive from the following countries: Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, and Brazil.

“The travel ban to these six countries started today, at midnight,” said Morente.

These countries are in addition to the 21 that are subjects of travel restrictions earlier announced by the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF.) It’s an effort to prevent the entry of travelers infected by the new coronavirus strain.

Foreign passengers coming from or who have been to the said six countries within 14 days from their arrival in the Philippines should be prohibited from entering the country beginning January 8 until January 15.

“However, Filipino citizens who have been to these countries within 14 days before arrival in the Philippines shall be allowed entry, but shall be referred to the airport’s one stop shop to undergo a strict 14-day quarantine,” the BI chief added.

Earlier, the government imposed a travel ban on travelers from the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong SAR, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain, and the United States.

BI Port Operations Division Chief Atty. Candy Tan, on their part, said that they are ready to implement travel restrictions set by Malacanang. (Malacanang Palace is the official residence and principal workplace of the President of the Philippines.)

“We’ve seen very low numbers [of arrivals] during the holiday season, it was a period unlike any other. We’re expecting even lower numbers during the first quarter of 2021, given the latest development on the new strain of Covid-19,” she shared.

Graphic from Bureau of Immigration Facebook page

Tan disclosed that no foreign passengers from the additional six countries have arrived since the implementation of the expanded travel restriction earlier today.

Diplomats Get a Pass

Meanwhile, the BI clarified that diplomats coming from the 27 restricted countries are allowed to enter the PH.

Tan stated that foreign diplomats and international organizations such as the World Health Organization and the United Nations shall be exempted from the travel restriction.

“Those with valid 9(e) visas may be allowed entry without the need of an exemption or authorization from the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA). But those who present a diplomatic, official, or regular passport with no valid 9(e) visa may also be provided entry if they have a valid 9(a) visa and an authorization from the DFA,” Tan stated.

“Apart from foreign diplomats, those who are coming for medical and emergency cases, including their medical escorts, if any, shall also be allowed entry provided that they have an entry visa,” she added.

Austria became an addition to the list the next day, January 9, 2020.

On January 12, 2020, the Philippines added China, Pakistan, Jamaica, Luxembourg, and Oman to the banned countries list.

By The Kano

POST AUTHOR: "THE KANO." Dave DeWall, "The Kano", is the Publisher & Editor-in-Chief of "Philippines Plus" in publication since August 2009. He is also the CEO of Lizard Poop Productions and author of the best-selling guide book "The Philippines Expat Advisor." Dave moved to the Philippines in July 2009 from Central Illinois with his lovely wife of over 21 years, "The Sainted Patient Wife." The couple reside in a rural province in Western Visayas, Guimaras. The small island province is said to have the sweetest mangoes in the world. They do not have any children but are the proud owners of eight active canines, including a Belgian Malinois called "Killer" "Killer" has bitten five people over the years along with one goat and a carabao. "Killer" doesn't like strangers. Or goats. Or carabaos.

error: Content is protected !!